Kano: 2 Ex-Guber Candidates, 27 State Coordinators Of Kwankwasiyya Decamp To APC

Two former gubernatorial candidates in Kano State as well as hundreds of others from different political parties have decamped to the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) in the State.

Among the defectors received into APC on Saturday at a mega rally to mark the Democracy Day in Kano are Sagir Salihu Takai, a former governorship candidate on the platform of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) and the defunct All Nigerian Peoples Party (ANPP) as well as Abdulsalam A. Zaura, who contested for Kano state governorship on the platform of the Green Party of Nigeria (GNP).


Others are Abba Risqua Murtala Mohammed, a son of a former military head of state, late Murtala Muhammad and the member representing Kiru/Bebeji federal constituency, Aliyu Datti Ahmed.

Also announced as decampees are individuals said to be members of the Kwankwasiyya movement, as well as Hajiya Binta Spikin, a former media aide to the leader of the Kwankwasiyya movement and former governor of Kano State, Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso.

Kano State Governor, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, who handed over the decampees to Alhaji Farouk Adamu Aliyu, the representative of the APC acting chairman, said the decampees have made the right decision by identifying with the ruling party.

Violence broke out earlier at the mega rally as members of the crowd exchange blows while Rt. Hon Hamisu Chidari, Speaker of Kano State House of Assembly, was giving his goodwill message.

The incident almost disrupted the rally as people fled in different directions but normalcy was immediately restored.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.