Ondo Election :Akeredolu In Massive Lead

A second term in office seemed assured for Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State with early results of Saturday’s election in Ondo North and South going heavily in his favour.

He was also running neck and neck in Ondo Central with his main challenger, Dr.Eyitayo Jegede of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at press time.


Jegede is from the Central Senatorial District.

Deputy Governor Agboola Ajayi of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), who was tipped to give Akeredolu and Jegede a run for their money, appeared lost from the results so far released.

His performance in his South Senatorial District fell short of the expectations of bookmakers.

Each of the candidates won his polling unit easily.

Akeredolu got 413 votes at his polling unit 6, ward 5, Isokun,Ijebu-Owo.

He was trailed by Jegede with five votes. Ajayi got no vote at all.

Jegede secured 220 votes in his Igbigin/Isikan ward unit 9 polling centre in Akure while Akeredolu got 60 and Ajayi 7.

Ajayi got the backing of 395 voters in his Apoi ward 11, unit 4 at Idumado, Kiribo in the Ese Odo Local Government Area. Akeredolu came a distant second there with 13 votes and Jegede 5 votes.

Akeredolu was the preferred candidate in Akoko North East, Akoko North West, Akoko South East, Akoko South West, Ilaje, Odigbo, Owo, Ile Oluji, Irele, Idanre and Ondo West local government areas.

He won by a landslide in Akoko South East with over 9,000 votes, leaving Jegede with 3,881 votes and Ajayi 1,960 votes.

It was also a landslide victory for Akeredolu in Akoko North East where he polled 16,572 votes against 8,380 for Jegede and 3,532 for Ajayi


1. Ifedore Local Government
APC – 9,350
PDP – 11,852
ZLP – 1,860

2. Ile Oluji Oke-Igbo Local Government
APC – 13,278
PDP – 9,231
ZLP – 1,971

3. Irele Local Government
APC – 12,643
PDP – 5,493
ZLP – 5,904

4. Akoko North-East Local Government
APC – 16,572
PDP – 8,380
ZLP – 3,532

5. Akoko South-West Local Government
APC – 21,232
PDP – 15,055
ZLP – 2,775

6. Akoko North-West Local Government
APC – 15,809
PDP – 10,320
ZLP – 3,477

7. Ondo East Local Government
APC – 6,485
PDP – 4,049
ZLP – 3,221

8. Owo Local Government
APC – 35,957
PDP – 5,311
ZLP – 408

9. Akure North Local Government
APC – 9,546
PDP – 12,263
ZLP – 1,046

10. Idanre Local Government
APC – 11,286
PDP – 7,499
ZLP – 3,623

11. Akoko South-East Local Government
APC – 9,419
PDP – 4,003
ZLP – 2,004

12. Akure South Local Government
APC – 17,277
PDP – 47,627
ZLP – 2,236

Results from 2704 polling units had been released at press time.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) said it had uploaded 90 per cent of the results on its portal last night.

It is expected that the remainder of the results will be made public later today and the winner formally declared.

The PDP camp was all quiet last night as the results trickled in while All Progressives Congress (APC) supporters went into jubilation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *